SeamiCox (Robenacoxib) Dose for Cats: Strengths & Dose Calculator
SeamiCox is robenacoxib tablets for cats from Drools (India), in strips of 4 [1]. The strength is not stated on the listing, so the calculator asks for it; robenacoxib reference doses for cats are shown [2].
- Contains
- Robenacoxib
- Company
- Drools Pet Food
- Forms
- SeamiCox tablet
- Label species
- Label not available online
- Data from
- India
- Type
- NSAID / pain relief
SeamiCox dose calculator
Results are calculated in your browser from the doses and strengths on this page. Check the strength printed on your pack and the label in your country before giving any dose.
SeamiCox strengths and presentations
| Presentation | Contains | Strength check |
|---|---|---|
| SeamiCox tablet PO | Robenacoxib strength not confirmed Strength not stated on the listing — type the mg printed on the strip. | Check your pack |
SeamiCox dose by species
The SeamiCox label dose is not published online. The doses below are reference doses for robenacoxib from the cited sources — not from the SeamiCox label.
| Species | Use | Dose | Route | How often | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cats | Post-operative pain (tablets) Cats ≥ 2.5 kg and ≥ 4 months old. | 1 mg/kg[2] | PO | Once daily · Maximum 3 days | Reference — robenacoxib |
| Cats | Post-operative pain (injection) First dose about 30 minutes before surgery. | 2 mg/kg[4] | SC | Once daily · Maximum 3 days | Reference — robenacoxib |
Warnings and precautions
- The US Onsior label: not for cats under 2.5 kg; maximum 3 days [2].
About robenacoxib (the active ingredient)
Non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drug (NSAID, coxib — highly COX-2 selective).
How it works
NSAIDs reduce prostaglandin production by inhibiting the cyclooxygenase (COX) enzymes [3]. Robenacoxib is highly selective for COX-2 [3].
Key safety points
Pack sizes
- Strip of 4 tablets [1].
Frequently asked questions
What is in SeamiCox?
Robenacoxib [1].
Other brands of robenacoxib
More from Drools Pet Food
SeamiCox is a trademark of its owner. This page is an independent clinical reference and is not affiliated with Drools Pet Food. Strengths, species and withdrawal periods can differ between countries — always follow the pack insert in your country.
References
- Drools SeamiCox Tablets (Robenacoxib) for Cats
Passage read from this source
Drools SeamiCox Tablets (Robenacoxib) for Cats
1 Strip (4 Tablets)
- ONSIOR (robenacoxib) 6 mg tablets for cats — FDA labeling
Passage read from this source
The dose of ONSIOR tablets is 0.45mg/lb (1mg/kg) orally once daily, for a maximum of 3 days.
Do not use in cats weighing less than 5.5 lbs, as cats less than 5.5 lbs cannot be accurately dosed.
ONSIOR has been shown to prolong the QT interval.
- Nonsteroidal Anti-inflammatory Drugs in Animals
Passage read from this source
Robenacoxib is a coxib-class highly selective COX-2 inhibitor
Dosage is 2 mg/kg, PO, initially and then 1–2 mg/kg per day thereafter (for up to 6 days in cats).
NSAIDs act primarily to reduce the biosynthesis of prostaglandins by inhibiting cyclooxygenase (COX).
- ONSIOR (robenacoxib) injection — FDA labeling
Passage read from this source
0.91 mg/lb (2 mg/kg) subcutaneously once daily, for a maximum of 3 days
The first dose should be administered approximately 30 minutes prior to surgery
The first dose should be administered approximately 45 minutes prior to surgery
Do not administer ONSIOR injection or tablets in conjunction with any other oral or injectable NSAID or corticosteroid.
For veterinary professionals. Information supports — never replaces — clinical judgement; always check the current product label and local regulations.