# Metaflam (Meloxicam) Dose for Dogs: Strengths & Dose Calculator

> Metaflam is meloxicam from Sava Healthcare (Savavet), India, sold as tablets (10 per pack) and a 15 mL oral suspension for dogs. The strengths are not stated on the listings, so the…

- Source page: https://wevet.in/vet-products/metaflam-meloxicam/
- Type: Vet product
- Publisher: WeVet
- Updated: 2026-11-02
- Medically reviewed by: Dr. Ravi Baraiya, B.V.Sc. (2026-11-02)
- Audience: veterinarians and veterinary students

Metaflam is meloxicam from Sava Healthcare (Savavet), India, sold as tablets (10 per pack) and a 15 mL oral suspension for dogs [1][2]. The strengths are not stated on the listings, so the calculator asks for the strength on your pack; meloxicam reference doses are shown [3].

- Brand: Metaflam
- Contains: Meloxicam
- Company: Sava Healthcare (Savavet)
- Label species: label not available online
- Data from: India

## Strengths

- Metaflam tablet: Meloxicam strength not confirmed (unknown)
- Metaflam oral suspension: Meloxicam strength not confirmed (unknown)

## Dose by species

| Species | Use | Dose | Route | How often | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dogs | Pain and inflammation — first day (Injection: single 0.2 mg/kg IV or SC, then oral 0.1 mg/kg daily from 24 h later.) | 0.2 mg/kg [3] | PO, or IV/SC (injection) | Once, on day 1 | Reference — meloxicam |
| Dogs | Pain and inflammation — maintenance | 0.1 mg/kg [3] | PO | Once daily | Reference — meloxicam |

## Label directions

- Give as recommended by the veterinarian, directly after food or mixed with food [1].

## Warnings and precautions

- Repeated meloxicam in cats has been linked to acute kidney failure and death (US boxed warning) — the US oral suspension is for dogs only [3][4].


Interactive dose calculator (strength prefilled only when confirmed): use the page link above.

## Frequently asked questions

### What is in Metaflam?

Meloxicam [1][2].

### What is the Metaflam dose for dogs?

No brand label dose was found online. The meloxicam dose on the US Metacam label is 0.2 mg/kg on day 1, then 0.1 mg/kg once daily [3].

## References

[1] Savavet Metaflam Tablets Anti-inflammatory For Dog & Cat - 10 Tablets — Heads Up For Tails (retail listing) (2026). https://headsupfortails.com/products/savavet-metaflam-anti-inflammatory-dog-cat-10-tablets
[2] Savavet Metaflam (Meloxicam) Oral Suspension for Dogs (15ml) — Supertails (retail listing) (2026). https://supertails.com/products/savavet-metaflam-pain-medication-oral-suspension
[3] METACAM (meloxicam) oral suspension — label — DailyMed (US NLM) — FDA-approved label (reference product) (2026). https://dailymed.nlm.nih.gov/dailymed/drugInfo.cfm?setid=c27c35d7-07e1-47d4-97cd-ed1fb17750ce
[4] METACAM (meloxicam) injection — label — DailyMed (US NLM) — FDA-approved label (reference product) (2026). https://dailymed.nlm.nih.gov/dailymed/drugInfo.cfm?setid=ca78caf5-2b47-46c1-abec-0f925b39f455
[5] Nonsteroidal Anti-inflammatory Drugs in Animals — Merck Veterinary Manual — S. H. Edwards (updated Sep 2024) (2024). https://www.merckvetmanual.com/pharmacology/inflammation/nonsteroidal-anti-inflammatory-drugs-in-animals

---
Numbers in [brackets] cite the references above. For veterinary professionals. Information supports — never replaces — clinical judgement; always check the current product label and local regulations.
Ask follow-up questions in WeVet (free AI assistant for veterinarians): https://wevet.in/
